Homemade Play Mat

Looking at play mats left me feeling like something was missing from them. My husband told me to make one, which was quite a funny idea with a 10 week old. Trying to find the time was difficult, but it was definitely worth it in the end. Despite having to fit in the planning, prepping and sewing around short naps and feeding, I managed to get it done and I am pretty pleased with the result.

I gathered my fabric to build a mood for my plan, it swayed towards tropical and underwater. I used colouring pages to create patterns for my applique, and my plan quickly came together.

fabric for play mat
Fabric ideas for my play mat

I found a great website filled with fun things that were baby safe to give a great sensory experience. I made a pineapple with a squeaker, a toucan with different textures, a ribbon fish, a boat with crinkly sails, amongst other tropical sensory experiences.

Definitely enjoyed piecing this all together, creating one personalised mat that was truly loved. Her face as the pineapple squeaks was worth all the effort put into this. I will enjoy figuring out other items I can make along the way.

Leave a comment